Bspline+Spirolive

Other sites and resources for Inkscape users.

Bspline+Spirolive

Postby jabiertxof » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:28 pm

Hi to all!
Spirolive: Show the spiro curve while you are drawing whith the pen.
Bspline: Add bspline curves to inkescape. It add a button near spiro button.
Both use SHIFT to switch next node to CUSP.
EXPERIMENTAL Mesh gradient tool, created by Tavmjong Bah maybe actived.
EXPERIMENTAL blending and compositing, created by Tavmjong Bah maybe actived.
EXPERIMENTAL Live effects maybe actived.
Now Shift to move handles to allow little objects modification.
Gallery http://www.inkscapeforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=13496&p=52015#p52015
Video working http://youtu.be/BvDBXXaY6Og
Updated at 2014-03-01

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inkscape 0.48 + devel + ?mesh + bspline + spirolive
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Debian/Ubuntu AMD64 r12210
https://app.box.com/s/a2th55120msxcd4kdli9

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Windows r12070 !Very outdated! Abybody want to provide a windows package?
http://www.inkscapeforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=13496&start=100#p56935

Brainless. kindly performed executables

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Source in Lauchpad https://code.launchpad.net/~inkscape.dev/inkscape/bspline+spirolive:
Branch lp:~inkscape.dev/inkscape/bspline+spirolive
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Abandoned branch: https://code.launchpad.net/~jabiertxof/+branches?field.lifecycle=ABANDONED&field.lifecycle-empty-marker=1&field.sort_by=most+recently+changed+first&field.sort_by-empty-marker=1

Credits
Vinipsmaker for his code review.
Arshdeep for his availability underutilized.
Romain for volunteering to help with the dialogue with Arshdeep.
Sorin because is my very first betatester.
Pieter for bring me some lights.
Guiu by surfing on my Spanglish.
Durban for their warm welcome.
Brainless, the best compiler ;)
~sub by aid just in time
Johan for their help and explanation
graficalibre let me speak castilian
Gez for his advices..
Jositux for enduring my trifles ;)
Alvin for the help with selected nodes change weight
And all other ones...
Last edited by jabiertxof on Wed May 14, 2014 5:51 pm, edited 119 times in total.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby brynn » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:29 pm

Hi jabier,
Is this something that the average Inkscape users can handle? I followed your link, but I don't see any obvious (to me, who is not very technically inclined) way to actually use it.

Someone explained to me what a "branch" is, a while ago....hhmmm.... I didn't clearly understand it, unfortunately.
Basics:
> Help menu > Tutorials
> a Quick Guide to Inkscape
Manual:
> Inkscape: Guide to a Vector Drawing Program
Tutorials:
> Inkscape Community
Development news
> Google+
Gallery:
> Inkscape Community Gallery
User avatar
brynn
 
Posts: 6676
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:23 pm

Hello brynn.
A branch is a codebase mod of a proyect -inksape- source code, and maybe included in the future of "master branch".
You need to compile it to test.
Here are a help to compile. http://wiki.inkscape.org/wiki/index.php/Compiling_Inkscape
There are two branch. One for the stable (0.48) and the other one for devel codebase
I made the stable for me but anybody can use.
I find a problem in 0.48.4, and this version is unable to open pdf files. I think isnt a problem whith my branch.

Hi, jabier.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:32 pm

Hi everybody.

I've found this thread while looking for a while for B-splines in Inkscape. I have tried to follow the instructions on how to use branches, compile, use Bazaar but I got lost. I could only manage to download some version from Skydrive and apparently it works. Maybe it's to much for my abilities. It could be great if some of you guys with this ability in programming/coding and so on could put together some "easy to install" version including the new measurement tool and this one for B-splines. Or, maybe, to explain a little more in detail how to do it. Is it possible to add the feature of B-spline to development versions available on Skydrive? If it is, how to do it?

Thanks in advance for your kind help.
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby brynn » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:26 pm

Yeah, I won't be compiling it either!

I have asked how to "compile" in the past. It was suggested (by people who know about my skills, who I respect) that I probably wouldn't have the skills to do it, short of having very simplified step by step instructions. Not that I don't think I could learn. I just don't have time to devote to learning right now. Someday, either I'll acquire the skills, or find someone with a LOT of patience!
Basics:
> Help menu > Tutorials
> a Quick Guide to Inkscape
Manual:
> Inkscape: Guide to a Vector Drawing Program
Tutorials:
> Inkscape Community
Development news
> Google+
Gallery:
> Inkscape Community Gallery
User avatar
brynn
 
Posts: 6676
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:35 pm

From http://graficalibre.org/ we are planing relase it compiled, I pesonaly compile the .deb for Debian Testing 64 and both branch.
This thigs are open for all have skills and want help. Personaly my level of english is poor and think is imposibol to me explain beter than the page i give in the last post.
Hi, Jabier.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:06 pm

jabiertxof wrote:From http://graficalibre.org/ we are planing relase it compiled, I pesonaly compile the .deb for Debian Testing 64 and both branch.
This thigs are open for all have skills and want help. Personaly my level of english is poor and think is imposibol to me explain beter than the page i give in the last post.
Hi, Jabier.


Hi Jabier,

thanks for the info. I've tried to follow the link you gave us, but again I've landed onto a not exactly user friendly page. Not a complain, of course, but from there I didn't understand whether I had to register, where and so on. I have downloaded a compressed folder in a way (I don't even remember how) from launchpad, unziiped everything. My question is: having on my hard drive the directory with the dev version I'm using and the directory with your files, is there a way to put them together to have the B-spline tool working? If there is, maybe I could try to do and to upload somewhere a "release" which includes the two new features (measurement tool and B-Spline) for those like me interested. Of course, giving credit to the authors: I'm not looking for unearned glory, but only for that combination of possibilities. :D

Thank you again for your kindness.

In addition, maybe there is someone on this forum who may know how to do it. In this case, whatever help is more than welcome.
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby flamingolady » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:41 am

Sorry, you lost me at hello. (sorry couldn't resist).
I'm still trying to figure out out filters work; right now working with spiro lines to make words, and not getting end results that I think I should get, so am very glad to see someone working with spline and spirolive, and hoping it will get easier for us artsy types (vs the techy math types).
I just luv this forum!
User avatar
flamingolady
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:54 am

Bspline
------------------------

Image
Image

SpiroLive
------------------------

Image
Image

BPower
-----------------------

Image
Image
Last edited by jabiertxof on Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:10 am, edited 10 times in total.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:56 am

Up images give from http://www.imgh.us
Last edited by jabiertxof on Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:27 am, edited 2 times in total.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:58 am

But this isnt extensions, you need to compile full source of inkscape.
Hi, Jabier.
Last edited by jabiertxof on Wed Feb 13, 2013 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby flamingolady » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:58 am

Jabiertxof
aha, that makes sense now. thank you!
User avatar
flamingolady
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:03 am

You are welcome!
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:34 pm

Hi Jabier,

I have managed to compile your branch for Windows. Despite several error messages related to fonts (most of them seem to be in a way connected to Adobe suite), it works. I don't know if this errors are coming from some problem on my PC or from somewhere else.

The B-Spline tool works perfectly and it's really a must have :-) For now, I haven't been succesfull in creating an installer for Windows, but a release compressed in 7z (same stile of the night build) works great wherever de-compressed. Of course, the fonts not installed do not work and they are mainly reverted to Sans 10.

For Windows users: once compiled, I got the known bug of "fail to launch" at the very first trial, but after a cold reboot the problem disappeared (as usual). If you want, Jabier, I could provide you the compiled version in 7z (around 40 MB compressed). Thanks again for your great job.
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:09 pm

Thanks Brainless.
You are welcome.
Could you upload this to some share service and put the link here?
Hi and thanks for the feedback.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:45 am

I have uploaded the archive. Here is the link:

[Version abandoned]

The branch is compiled for Windows. I have tested on Windows 7 and it works. It should also on Vista and XP. There isn't any readme on how to install. Please follow this procedure:

1. Open the archive with 7-zip. If you don't have it, you can dowload it from http://www.7-zip.org.
2. Select the directory "inkscape" and extract the files keeping the directory tree as it is wherever you like on your hard disk
3. To launch, go into the "inkscape" directory you have extracted and launch the inkscape.exe
4. Enjoy

Remarks: It could happen that on first launch an error message appears and the program will be forced to shut down. The bug is known and traced on Launchpad and for almost every user it worked to reboot. Shut down your PC, wait a couple of minutes, switch on and launch again. The problem should be solved. It happened to me also and this simple procedure solved the problem. Why it happens to me is a mistery and not to me only :-)

Issues: In compiling the branch I got many errors when installing fonts. Many of them belong to Adobe Master Collection CS5. Fonts unsupported are more or less 30 and all of them have been reverted by the compiler to Sans 10. If text is not your priority, you can forget this issue as it does not have any impact (as far as I have seen till now) on anything else.

Credits: All the job has been done by Jabiertxof. I have just compiled the branch: nothing more. In case of problems in dowloading, please contact me on this forum.


The new version is available here:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=13496&p=52783#p52783
Last edited by Brainless on Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Wed Feb 13, 2013 2:23 am

Hi Brainless. I put a link to here in top post.
Thanks very much for your time to go up the code in windows and for explain better than I could it to new users.
You are ever welcome.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby druban » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:20 am

Jabiertxof, truly smooth and wonderful coding! No slowing down or hanging, both additions to the Beziertool work almost flawlessly! (There's a couple of little quirks with node handles being extended and the path effect vanishing when that happens, instead of just ignoring the handle information... you probably know about that... Also to anyone using this build your preferences are probably going to be a problem,but that might just be on my system...)
Are you planning to implement weight adjustable knots for the B-spline path effect? I have no idea how or where that might be done but it would be even more cool! Just as it is, it's the best addition to inkscape since path effects, easily. LiveSpiro makes the Spiro tool work the way it should, beautiful improvement there as well! I nominate you to the Inkscape development team immediately.
I feel like learning Spanish just to thank you properly!

And special thanks to Brainless for going to all the trouble of learning - at top speed! :shock: -how to compile a windows version and making it available to the rest of us! Hero(ine?) cape to you, too.

I hope we will be seeing even more lovely contributions from the two of you. Is that being greedy, or what? :lol:
Your mind is what you think it is.
User avatar
druban
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:57 am

Hi druban. Thanks a lot for your feed back!
About weight adjustable knots, is posibol. Now BSpline curves handle two kinds of nodes, whith handles (cusp nodes result) and whithout them (Bspline node). This give me the posibility to use SYMM nodes to make the wheight of a bspline, but im not sure if it give power or confusion to the final user. Think this feature is very important? Is a problem the wheight of adjustable points are symetrical?
Maybe this option require to change something in the filosophy, maybe another solution is to use the hanldes to give the power to the bspline, no handles cusp node, handles give power to the BSpline node. By defaut when create a BSpline node, the power is 1/3 of the in/out path but can vbe modified changing the BSPline as the user want. This is perfect but have a problem: when use the node tool for mensge the curve the control line red, could give not informative data about the wheight, so maybe this tool need to be modified to when in BSpline path the handles move only in the direction of the path.
Im not sure about my explain, my english is so bad.
The cuestion is open: Wheight adgustable or not?
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:04 am

Well,

it hasn't been so hard as it looked at the beginning. The wiki page linked by Javier explains almost everything. The true point is that on that wiki it is not explained that if you follow the link to the 4.6.1. verison of theTDM's GCC (Mingw) compiler, you will be led to the hell without noticing it. The guys of TDM force the installer - even in the older versions - to refer to some 4.7.1. release. So, to have the true 4.6.1. you have to look for every single piece of the software individually, to download it and to pack into a single directory. The bothering part of the job was to find out every single library, add-on etc. one by one in the version needed. :shock:

EDIT: On Launchpad, suv drove my attention on the fact that if you download the installer of the version 4.6.1. there is an option to check (or uncheck) a kind of confirmation that you really want that version. A little complicated, but that means that I have been going around for nothing as I could have had the needed version in a simpler way. My fault that I didn't notice, but good to know for whoever wants to compile using TDM's GCC. So, check carefully the installing options and you'll have an easier life than the one I had :ugeek: :-)

EDIT 2: For the few ones interested, please see also this exchange I'm having on Launchpad. I have to come back, for now, on my first statement: if you use the installer named "tdm-gcc-4.6.1.exe" available for dowload at the page linked on the wiki, you may experience some problems. You may, I want to say, because I got the Windows branch compiled quite correctly only after I have changed the TDM GCC into the real 4.6.1. And this, as far as I know now, you can get only taking piece by piece manually.

EDIT 3: Mistery solved. The installer works correctly if you uncheck the little box at the bottom of the very first window of the installation process. Keeping it checked will install one of the 4.7 versions, if unchecked you will get the desired 4.6.1. Thanks to JazzyNico on Launchpad (see the linked discussion in EDIT 2) to have clarified the situation.

If someone is interested, I have everything done so I can upload also the compiler in 7z. For Mingw it works the same as for the compiled branch: dowload, unzip (+set environment variables), enjoy. What it doesn't work, for me at least, is NSIS and wixtools to make installers. They both give me errors at a certain step of the process. Anyway, considering that a zipped folder is easy to install and it works, who cares of an installer? :lol:

For Jabier: if you need some help in compiling for windows other developments, let me know and I'll try to do it for you. Personally I'd like very much to see also Uniform BSplines as a tool. The reason, as I have already explained Jabier, is that I'm using Inkscape to trace tall ship plans (I'm a ship modeler) and to use those svg drawings as a base to build ships in 3D with Sketchup. Sketchup does not support true curves (only polylines), so the better the base drawing, the more accurate the model. Not to be said that, from my point of view this tool is by far one of the most useful in Inkscape and with that I can finally get rid of the never loved cad apps.

Ah, a hero cape I think it fits better to me than a heroine one :lol:

Edit - I forgot to add to my wishlist:
1. a "trim" function working on segments of open paths (like the scissors in Illustrator);
2. a "join" function able to insert a node in the intersection of two open/closed paths (add the node to both paths or even better to join paths using the intersection node as common one);
3. an "offset/inset" function working on open paths
4. more to come with more experience and practice.
Last edited by Brainless on Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:06 am, edited 4 times in total.
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:11 am

Brainless, what opinion about Wheight adgustable nodes?
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:22 am

jabiertxof wrote:Brainless, what opinion about Wheight adgustable nodes?


Honestly speaking, I don't see in which cases they could be useful. Using handles, in a way, is like giving that control point a "weight", am I right? Maybe it could be an alternative to "move" the control point, but I'm coming from handcraft works so to me it fits better to change manually instead of inputting a numerical value.

Of course is just my opinion and it comes from what I draw in Inkscape: to me the key point is to be accurate in reproducing the lines I have as reference. Probably, for free-hand drawings it could be a nice alternative. It could be nice to have the opinion of an "artist" oriented user.
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:31 am

Brainless wrote:Edit - I forgot to add to my wishlist:
1. a "trim" function working on segments of open paths (like the scissors in Illustrator);
2. a "join" function able to insert a node in the intersection of two open/closed paths (add the node to both paths or even better to join paths using the intersection node as common one);
3. an "offset/inset" function working on open paths
4. more to come with more experience and practice.

Hi this Whish list is about BSpline? Im not sure.
I dont undertand the point 1 but if I underatand you can done double cliking in the path where you want to break, it create a new node here, and press the button to break in selected nodes, it give you two paths
the 2 point have button in the toolbar too, join selected paths or join whith a new segment
The 3 point dont undertand but can be done whith elements included in path menu.
Hi, Jabier.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby Brainless » Wed Feb 13, 2013 4:40 am

No, they are not connected to BSplines. They are a little off topic.

1. Trim: yes, but addng manually is very often not so accurate. Consider that sometimes I have to care of a precision of less than half a mm due to scale factors.
2. It's true, but double clicking add a node only to one of the paths, not to both. With the current tools, I should double click on the first to add a node, split the path, double click on the second, split the path. Get rid of uselss segments, join in the new position. Long time and sometimes not so accurate as it could be an automatic function.
3. For what I have experienced, offsets and insets do not work on open paths, but only on closed areas. Many times I have to offset/inset curves with first and last node not connected by a segment.

Nevermind, I just took the chance given by the comment of druban. Anyway, Uniform BSplines are on topic :-)
Brainless
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: B-Spline + SpiroLive Branch

Postby jabiertxof » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:04 am

Brainless wrote:
jabiertxof wrote:Brainless, what opinion about Wheight adgustable nodes?


Honestly speaking, I don't see in which cases they could be useful. Using handles, in a way, is like giving that control point a "weight", am I right? Maybe it could be an alternative to "move" the control point, but I'm coming from handcraft works so to me it fits better to change manually instead of inputting a numerical value.

Of course is just my opinion and it comes from what I draw in Inkscape: to me the key point is to be accurate in reproducing the lines I have as reference. Probably, for free-hand drawings it could be a nice alternative. It could be nice to have the opinion of an "artist" oriented user.

Hi brainless, im whith your opinion, now way is less confusing and thik suficient to draw exactly what you want, but im not sure i start loving this feature but whith one important objetive, give a easy usage to the final user. For this need to code in the node tool to limit the handle movements and give a 1/3 visible handle Snap to the handles of nodes. This give the ability to full control of the curve once (or not but harder to program and maybe to usage) is draw, it remove the strange quirks tell druban because cusp nodes became no handless nodes and bspline nodes are modified by handles. Its more logical.

Brainless wrote:1. Trim: yes, but addng manually is very often not so accurate. Consider that sometimes I have to care of a precision of less than half a mm due to scale factors.

If you want to have precission first create node, select the node only and whith the numeric input position it, finaly press the button to break. Think this is more precise than a scissor tool moved by a hand. Visualy can be done whith path->cut path

Brainless wrote:3. For what I have experienced, offsets and insets do not work on open paths, but only on closed areas. Many times I have to offset/inset curves with first and last node not connected by a segment.

You are OK. in this case inset/ouset and then remove the segment extra autocreated

Brainless wrote:2. It's true, but double clicking add a node only to one of the paths, not to both. With the current tools, I should double click on the first to add a node, split the path, double click on the second, split the path. Get rid of uselss segments, join in the new position. Long time and sometimes not so accurate as it could be an automatic function.

I dont undersand you, lost the word intersection. Maybe a extension to it? I could do when have time. But i dont know when can be done.

Hi, Jabier.
jabiertxof
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 am

Next

Return to Inkscape Resources

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest