Copying from Gimp

Post about projects that involve using Inkscape and GIMP.
Dr. Strangelove

Copying from Gimp

Postby Dr. Strangelove » Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:55 am

Hi
I have a quick question. Is it not possible to copy from Gimp to Inkscape?
Thanks

User avatar
capnhud
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:30 pm
Location: U.S.A

Re: Copying from Gimp

Postby capnhud » Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:35 pm

In windows xp I have no problem copying. Either a layer or image into inkscape. (Gimp 2.4.2 and .46 inkscape (12/06/2008)

aqeeliz
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:28 pm
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Copying from Gimp

Postby aqeeliz » Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:32 pm

It doesn't seem to be working for me on Linux, using KDE 3.5, Inkscape 0.45.1 and GIMP 2.4.1

paucku
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:59 am

You can. In some way...

Postby paucku » Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:06 am

Yes you can on Linux too. In some way...

I have done this. I have opened GIMP and Inkscape. I drag a layer from GIMP and drop it in Inkscape. And it goes there :).

The system is Debian Testing/Unstable with KDE.

That is why I have said "in some way" - you cannot select something and after that to copy and paste only it.

So if you want to copy something from GIMP to Inkscape you have to make new layer with the desired content, edit it, and after that to copy it.


Return to “Inkscape & GIMP”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests