Newbie Needs Help

General discussions about Inkscape.
VerticalAscent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:29 am

Newbie Needs Help

Postby VerticalAscent » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:34 am

Hi i am very new to this inkscape thing. I have been trying to save Text as dxf so that i can engrave it.
I can get it to save as dxf but it is not saving the whole word,I am using TESTING as the word and Arial Font.
It will save all of the lines but none of the radius letters S and G...So is there a Simple Way of doing this?
Thanks Bob

Moini
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby Moini » Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:02 am

Yes, I think we had something similar just a couple of weeks ago on the forum, also with Arial font... The issue being that some part of the path data cannot easily be transformed (but I think the extension choked on it then...?)

Can you try the following:
Select text. Do Path -> Object to Path. Ungroup the Text. Hit Ctrl + + to union the letters. Export to dxf now and test.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9911
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby brynn » Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:52 am

Tip: You can skip some steps. Select the text, and click Path menu > Union. (I didn't discover that myself, but learned from ~suv)

VerticalAscent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:29 am

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby VerticalAscent » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:39 am

Ok so i tried just text with lines this word-> LATTI--did path;object to path. Ungroup then union...Saved it as a dxf file and could open it in my CAM pgm.
So I did it again using another text word....TEST....it just wont save radius...hummm... :?:

Moini
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby Moini » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:22 am

Oh - cool :D
Thx for the neat trick, Brynn!
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

tylerdurden
Posts: 2065
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby tylerdurden » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:46 am

Might help to post your Inkscape version, system info and dxf settings... object to path seems pretty good here.
Attachments
2017-02-07_20-43-56.png
2017-02-07_20-43-56.png (84.85 KiB) Viewed 958 times
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

VerticalAscent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:29 am

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby VerticalAscent » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:35 pm

Hey Tyler Nice screen shot...Thank You! Im using 0.092 also, i just downloaded it 2/6. watched a video on how to manipulate text and got it. when I save the text as dxf,it pops a window up which has Desktop Cutting Plotter (AutoCad DXF R14)*.DXF<----I save it as drawing1.DXF...It will out put all Lines But NO Radius. I also Use AutoDesk Inventor Fusion360...when i bring it up in Inventor it shows only lines no radius...
Oh.. when I save it;there is another window that pops up...DeskTop Cutting Plotter in it i have Robomaster type Spline Unchecked...LWPOLYLINE Unchecked....Base Unit:inches... Encoding:UTF8...Layer Export:ALL .....then click ok...and it saves it just fine ...just no radius....
I am sure it is a piece of cake...i just need to figure it out...and I will...Thanks Bob

tylerdurden
Posts: 2065
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:54 am

I'd try setting the encoding to Latin 1.

Desktop_Cutting_Plotter_2017-02-08_09-53-10.png
Desktop_Cutting_Plotter_2017-02-08_09-53-10.png (12.57 KiB) Viewed 889 times


Autodesk_Fusion_360_2017-02-08_09-49-20.png
Autodesk_Fusion_360_2017-02-08_09-49-20.png (120.7 KiB) Viewed 889 times


Chime back and let us know! :D
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

VerticalAscent
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:29 am

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby VerticalAscent » Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:33 pm

Chime Chime :lol: ok so i un installed the software and re itstalled it...Still wont out put arcs or radius so im done ....nice screen shots tyler...
thanks for all the suggestions...Bob

tylerdurden
Posts: 2065
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Newbie Needs Help

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:23 pm

Happy trails....
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/


Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest