Page 1 of 1

Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 9:29 am
by StevenD
I was thinking about reporting a possible bug having to do with a font not showing all of the weights in Inkscape 0.92 like it does in Inkscape 0.48. But then it may not be a bug after all.

When I want to use the Roboto font in Inkscape 0.48 I can choose Roboto Ultra-Light but that font weight doesn't appear in the font menu in 0.92. Not sure if I should bother reporting this or not. Any advice?

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:14 pm
by brynn
No, I don't think it's a bug. Between 0.48.x and 0.91, there were some changes about this. I don't understand well enough to explain. So hopefully someone else can explain. But I'm pretty sure it's not a bug.

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:39 am
by Moini
Is it available in the style dropdown?

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:30 pm
by brynn
Moini, whatever this change was, many fonts that used to have things like "Ultra-Light Italics", or "Outline", or "Extra Heavy", just don't show those options anymore. I know in the case of "Heavy" we're supposed to just add a stroke, or make the stroke wider. But I don't know how to make a font thinner. And I still can't explain the change very well.

I'll try to look up the release notes, so I can show you, and maybe you can explain.... Oh, well actually you explained it to me a long time ago. Remember when we were polishing up the FAQ, and I was having a hard time understanding the change where Inkscape used to create the the italics or bold automatically, but that was incorrect according to SVG standards, and now the devs removed that, so Inkscape is working more correctly, but now we have to use skew to make italics and a stroke to make bold. But I never did understand how to make the font thinner.

Does that give you a clue what I'm talking about?

(Sorry StevenD - some things about Inkscape I understand very, very well, but other things, not so much)

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:58 pm
by Moini
Yes, I know what you're talking about. But that behaviour in Inkscape has been fixed. There is no fake bolding / fake italics per default anymore.
I know there are a couple of bug reports about some font styles not showing up. I don't have time for research for the next couple of days, but maybe someone can browse the reports at https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape ?

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:38 am
by brynn
Yes, I know they fixed it, that's what I said. But it was the fixing of that, that caused some of these font weights not to show up anymore.

Oh, look at this! Did you say Roboto font? Here's a bug report. You're welcome to add a comment, if you have new or different experience or other relevant info.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bug/1555109

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:27 am
by StevenD
Thanks brynn. I didn't think it was a bug either so thanks for confirming. I work with type a lot in Inkscape so it looks like I'm going to keep working with version 0.48.

Re: Is it a bug or intended to be that way?

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:58 am
by Moini
But it *is* a bug...?