Interpolation Extension Bug ?

General discussions about Inkscape.
Raspi
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:51 am

Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Raspi » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:20 am

I have a square, converted to a path.
I add 4 nodes with the Node Tool rubberband selected and hitting the plus in the toolbar, so i end up with an 8 node square.

My original square is black, i duplicate and make it white.

Now i want a gradient of grays so i use the Interpolation Extension, with the "Interpolate style" option ticked.
I want 19 steps.

After the interpolation my squares have 9 nodes with "Interpolation Method 1" and 16 nodes with "Interpolation Method 2".

Anybody else experiencing this ?
Attachments
Interpolation Buggery.svg
(38.73 KiB) Downloaded 179 times

tylerdurden
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby tylerdurden » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:02 am

I only see one square with 9 nodes. The others have a variety 15, 16...

I don't know if I'd call it a bug... It's not cloning.

You could use clones and shift the luminance value.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Raspi
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:51 am

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Raspi » Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:03 am

tylerdurden wrote:I don't know if I'd call it a bug... It's not cloning.


I dont know what exactly happens when the Interpolation is calculated, but why would it modify two identical paths, when its clear that only the colour is the difference ?

Thats like, not calling it a bug when Gaussian Blur suddenly turns the colour of the object into something else.
In the context of what i wanted to do, the Extension is destroying my path, and make my intended workflow impossible.

One of the problems with Inkscape is that there is always a specific way to get to a certain result, because the tools behave weird or unexpected, and it takes ages to find the correct one.
Its very frustrating.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EDIT: i experimented a bit.
Tried a 2 node path. It interpolated okay from black to white, without adding more nodes. No complaints here.

Tried a star. Both same colour. It added a node so that you get an open path.

Tried a square. Both same colour. Again, it added a node, making the shape into an open path.

Tried a circle. Both same colour. It adds a node and makes the inbetween circles into slightly wonky, non round shapes.
Wtf.

EDIT 2:
Also tried with IS 0.48 portable.
Same results. The same open paths, the same increase in nodes with method 2.
Just a bit faster.

So it seems this behaviour was always like this and probably not a bug.
Attachments
Shape Interpolation Tests.svg
(72.66 KiB) Downloaded 170 times

Moini
Posts: 3244
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Moini » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:57 am

The 'open path' part is a known bug, I think. Just tested with master, it's even worse there - I get each node duplicated PLUS an open path.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

User avatar
flamingolady
Posts: 685
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby flamingolady » Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:47 am

Yes, I see that it has added duplicated nodes on top of each other, esp on your right side version- this has been happening to me since v 91. When you delete the extra node(s), then the path opens. It's not just in interpolation, it's all over the place when I chg to a path. I used power stroke to make a font and it just about drove me up a tree, almost to the point where it would take less time to not use it. To attempt a workaround, I would suggest that you use as few nodes to start with, use just 4 nodes. Also instead of starting with a square object, which you then have to convert to a path, draw your own square with the bezier tool, that way there is no converting to a path, so no dupped nodes. (Hint, to get it straight and sized, use your old square as a template, ie, chg the color, then draw your square on top of it).

Raspi
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:51 am

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Raspi » Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:31 am

Moini wrote:The 'open path' part is a known bug, I think. Just tested with master, it's even worse there - I get each node duplicated PLUS an open path.

Well, this is kind of comforting.

flamingolady wrote:I would suggest that you use as few nodes to start with, use just 4 nodes. Also instead of starting with a square object, which you then have to convert to a path, draw your own square with the bezier tool, that way there is no converting to a path, so no dupped nodes.

Unfortunately that wasnt an option with what i intended to do.
I found a different solution in the mean time.

Its just this often very time consuming quest for the do-able way that turns me off.
A tool is supposed to do a certain thing and if it doesnt, it gets complicated.

TBH, after all this, im not even sure what the Interpolation Extension is good for.

tylerdurden
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:30 am

Raspi wrote:TBH, after all this, im not even sure what the Interpolation Extension is good for.

I use it for making laurels:


Image

Extra nodes are not a problem in this case. YMMV
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Raspi
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:51 am

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Raspi » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:00 pm

tylerdurden wrote:
Raspi wrote:TBH, after all this, im not even sure what the Interpolation Extension is good for.

I use it for making laurels


I've done that as well and it works, no doubt.

Lets say i need 10 squares with 8 nodes each, going from desaturated orange to sky blue and i dont want any complicated math (tiled clones *cough*).

I could clone a column or arrange 8 duplicates by hand for the shapes, but for the colours its getting a bit complicated.
I could interpolate the gradient and transfer them by hand with the dropper tool but its a bit tedious.

Maybe interpolate colour attribute in a group extension ?

rect862.png
rect862.png (1.21 KiB) Viewed 3469 times
Last edited by Raspi on Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tylerdurden
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:43 pm

Maybe the trace feature of clones?

Image
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Raspi
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:51 am

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Raspi » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:46 pm

tylerdurden wrote:Maybe the trace feature of clones?

Interesting !

tylerdurden
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:48 pm

Funny how when the clones are adjacent, they look like they all have gradients... but they are truly solid colors.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Raspi
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:51 am

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby Raspi » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:54 pm

tylerdurden wrote:Funny how when the clones are adjacent, they look like they all have gradients... but they are truly solid colors.

I noticed that too :D

tylerdurden
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:58 pm

Looks like a bug where the clones indicate a 1px stroke, but there are none when the links to original are broken. :-/
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

User avatar
flamingolady
Posts: 685
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Interpolation Extension Bug ?

Postby flamingolady » Fri Nov 24, 2017 2:04 pm

Tylerdurden, thx for that tut of tracing, I could not have imagined that for the life of me. I've used interpolation alone to get the gradient look, but never the tracing feature. Amazing. thanks much


Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest