How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

General discussions about Inkscape.
celiapgt
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 12:32 pm

How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby celiapgt » Thu Aug 15, 2019 1:11 pm

I usually like to have the Objects dialog opened, and Layers dialog is a must in my workflow. So both dialogs are iconified sometimes in my lateral panel. What drives me mad is to have the same icon for two different things: Objects and Layers. I need to change the Objects dialog also because it doesn't represent correctly the idea of a stack of objects.

After creating an icon, I suppose I have to place it in /usr/share/inkscape/icons (on Ubuntu, installed thru regular repositories; not by flatpak system). If this is wrong, please point me out the right path.

And how do I name the icon file in order to show it in my interface?

Note: this are the paths to icon themes in my system:

/home/myuser/.local/share/icons
/usr/share/openbox/icons
/home/myuser/.local/share/flatpak/exports/share/icons
/var/lib/flatpak/exports/share/icons
/usr/local/share/icons
/usr/share/icons
/var/lib/snapd/desktop/icons
/usr/share/openbox/pixmaps
/home/myuser/.local/share/flatpak/exports/share/pixmaps
/var/lib/flatpak/exports/share/pixmaps
/usr/local/share/pixmaps
/usr/share/pixmaps
/var/lib/snapd/desktop/pixmaps
/home/myuser/.local/share/inkscape/icons
/usr/share/openbox/inkscape/icons
/home/myuser/.local/share/flatpak/exports/share/inkscape/icons
/var/lib/flatpak/exports/share/inkscape/icons
/usr/local/share/inkscape/icons
/usr/share/inkscape/icons
/var/lib/snapd/desktop/inkscape/icons
/home/myuser/.config/inkscape/icons
/usr/share/inkscape/icons
/usr/share/icons

tylerdurden
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby tylerdurden » Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:28 pm

There is not any easy way.
Looks like you have already filed a report, so perhaps all that is left is to make a unique icon.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Moini
Posts: 3291
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby Moini » Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:22 am

Yes, copy the icon file /usr/share/inkscape/icons/icons.svg into ~/.config/inkscape/icons , there you can edit it.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

Moini
Posts: 3291
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby Moini » Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:23 am

(this will only work if the dialog does not use the same icon name internally, which I did not check)
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

tylerdurden
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby tylerdurden » Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:23 am

Celita has filed a report indicating the following:
I had checked the verbs.cpp file and there is a mistake: both verbs for Objects and Layers dialogs have the same icon defined:

Code: Select all

new DialogVerb(SP_VERB_DIALOG_OBJECTS, "DialogObjects", N_("Object_s..."), N_("View Objects"),
                    INKSCAPE_ICON("dialog-layers")),


(What I meant earlier, is that all that mere mortals (like myself) can do is make an icon and offer it to the devs to be programmed into Inkscape.)
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Moini
Posts: 3291
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby Moini » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:40 pm

Yep, I see. It's still wrong in the code. Although, I think you'd be able to fix it. It doesn't require any programming skills to rename that to dialog-objects and to add the corresponding icons into the various sets.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

tylerdurden
Posts: 2322
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby tylerdurden » Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:33 pm

I understand it is not a complicated change: make a dialog-objects icon, add to the set, edit the verb.

I was under the impression the edited verbs.cpp still has to be included in a new build.

Edit: And a new <bind> ( and update to keys, if a shortcut is added). (?)
http://wiki.inkscape.org/wiki/index.php/Adding_interface_verbs
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Moini
Posts: 3291
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: How can I change the Objects… dialog icon so it can be different from Layers' one?

Postby Moini » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:35 am

I think the shortcut might have been left out intentionally, for people to select themselves - most shortcuts are already taken, which starts getting problematic. But if you can find one that's still free and somehow fits, then why not.

Yes, if you edit a C++ file, Inkscape needs to be re-built (if I understood correctly what you were meaning, I'm not sure...)
And yes, if you add a keyboard shortcut, this should be documented in the documentation repository, and the various keyboard shortcut files (or at least the default one, not sure how that is usually handled) need to be adjusted.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)


Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests