Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Flesh out your ideas for new or improved Inkscape features before submitting a request.
Billybug

Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Billybug » Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:48 pm

Hello every body
I have one project idea : http://wiki.inkscape.org/wiki/index.php ... plugin-ang
Make a plugin for Inkscap e with autocad tools like.

Thank you for your reply

Image

User avatar
heathenx
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby heathenx » Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:23 pm

Not quite what you had in mind but in the development version one can ctrl+shift+f6 to expose some CAD-like tools. Pretty minimal at this point but it's a start. :)

Image

Billybug

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Billybug » Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:14 pm

Good !!!! :)
Wer can I found information about this development?

User avatar
heathenx
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby heathenx » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:16 pm

If you have specific questions regarding the devel release then I suppose you can join the inkscape-devel mailing list (http://www.inkscape.org/mailing_lists.php?lang=en) and ask your questions there. If you're looking to try out a devel release then cruise over to http://inkscape.modevia.com/win32/?M=D and download a current build. Nothing to install, just extract and run the inkscape.exe to fire it up.

They also added a snapping toolbar that I found very useful. You'll appreciate that if you are a CAD user (heck, you'll appreciate if you're not). :)

User avatar
rbissett
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:07 am

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby rbissett » Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:21 am

CAD-like = cool. Downloaded the latest Dev version and tried Ctrl + Shift + F6, but no luck. Any further instructions? Thanks, Bob.

User avatar
heathenx
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:51 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby heathenx » Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:05 am

rbissett wrote:CAD-like = cool. Downloaded the latest Dev version and tried Ctrl + Shift + F6, but no luck. Any further instructions? Thanks, Bob.


These features have either been turned off or removed while the developers are trying to finalize 0.47...so, we don't have them for the time being. I imagine they will be permanently removed or flipped back on for the 0.47+devel stage when that opens back up.

jm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby jm » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:00 am

A great place to start is with a look at the 'CadTools' plugin for illustrator.

If you have access to illustrator, there is a demo (limited features) which gives a good idea of the power of this plugin - it really turns illustrator into a great CAD app.

https://www.hotdoor.com/cadtools

Cheers!

ps. I would definately buy/contribute to such a plugin .. anything to stop using illustrator! ;)

jm

stanmarsh
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:55 am

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby stanmarsh » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:15 am

im also looking for an cad alternative, i just read an article about project cooper from autocad which is a mix of sketchup and autocad. i think this can benefit cad tools for inkscape.

article link.
http://www.blender3darchitect.com/2009/ ... d-drawing/

cheers

a-b

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby a-b » Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:07 pm

Qcad has those sort of tools. The community edition of Qcad is GPL too, so the tools could be adapted from it instead of doing it all again. Then again if you need to do CAD stuff, Qcad is excellent in my opinion.

Agent24
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:56 am

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Agent24 » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:58 am

I just downloaded the latest development build but ctrl+shift+F6 didn't do anything...

Are these tools still available or was that in a previous version (I am using v0.48 currently)

Brainless
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Brainless » Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:26 pm

Hi everybody.

Is this project still alive or is it dead/abandoned?

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10309
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby brynn » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:35 pm

I'd say start with the link in the op, and go from there. I haven't heard of anything, but that's where I would start looking :D

Brainless
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Brainless » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:06 pm

brynn wrote:I'd say start with the link in the op, and go from there. I haven't heard of anything, but that's where I would start looking :D


Oh, trust me brynn. I have investigated all the possible sources of info and I also noticed that on Launchpad there is a blueprint on the topic marked as essential and only God knows how I suppor this definition. :D But it seems frozen in a way. I also guess that the assignee had left the development team, but maybe he joined again. I found a message exchange on the web on the topic. To my regret, my mokey abilities don't let me step into the programming team. I will try to ask on Launchpad to see whether someone has updated news :ugeek:

User avatar
druban
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby druban » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:45 pm

Hi Brainless, I can point you to the page with the last development version(r11789) that Uwe Scholer compiled containing these experimental LPEs for Windows. You can try out the draft version of these path effects but do note that some of them don't work at all and will immediately crash your Inkscape.

Compiling this version for yourself is a little more complicated but there are instructions -from ~suv, when ~suv used to post on this forum here. I don't know if that's enough info for you to compile it yourself.
On that same thread there's a link to a video that's also very nice. I use the Uwe build myself, but let me know if you compile and make a windows build available.
What would be super generous of you would be to compile it to have the Livespiro, Bspline AND these experimental LPEs all in the same build. Wow! Pretty please!
Your mind is what you think it is.

Brainless
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Brainless » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:38 pm

druban wrote:Hi Brainless, I can point you to the page with the last development version(r11789) that Uwe Scholer compiled containing these experimental LPEs for Windows. You can try out the draft version of these path effects but do note that some of them don't work at all and will immediately crash your Inkscape.

Compiling this version for yourself is a little more complicated but there are instructions -from ~suv, when ~suv used to post on this forum here. I don't know if that's enough info for you to compile it yourself.
On that same thread there's a link to a video that's also very nice. I use the Uwe build myself, but let me know if you compile and make a windows build available.
What would be super generous of you would be to compile it to have the Livespiro, Bspline AND these experimental LPEs all in the same build. Wow! Pretty please!


Well. I will have to investigate a bit, but I guess it is possible. I'm waiting for the further development of the BSpline tool and then I will try to merge those two branches in one with LPE enabled. If the only step required (apart from merge) is to uncomment a line of a file, I don't see many problems in doing it.

As you are using those tools, could you list me the ones working and the ones leading to crash? If I will be able to do it, I'd like to release a version with no easter eggs inside :)

EDIT: I guess that Uwe Scholer does not own any branch, so everything should be already in the trunk. I will check. In this case, if those files have not been deleted, it should be enough to uncomment the line shown by suv. For the time being I have dowloaded the release you told me and I'm testing something here and there. Anyway, still stepping a little in the dark... Maybe i will write him a mail

User avatar
druban
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby druban » Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:16 pm

:D
rect3198.png
rect3198.png (16.7 KiB) Viewed 20157 times

Edit: Tangent to curve should be yes! yes! Yes! Sorry.
Your mind is what you think it is.

Brainless
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby Brainless » Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:12 pm

Ok druban. I will try to go through. Just a question: could you tell me what do you mean with "Old"? Does it mean that Inkscape has another newer tool able to the same?

Edit: I have managed to compile a version with (i think) all of those LPes included. You can find it here

elecman
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:39 pm

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby elecman » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:18 pm

Are the CAD tools still in the pipeline or is it abandoned?

User avatar
bartovan
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:14 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Acad-plugin for Inkscape

Postby bartovan » Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:58 pm

I was interested in this too, having worked a few years with AutoCAD. It's not exactly crucial to have this in Inkscape, but having gotten used to CAD-like ways of controlling translations, scaling, rotations etc, I sometimes miss them (especially when doing geometrical/symmetrical/technical like drawings).

In the end however I think best thing to do is a shift of mindset, leave CAD and become an Inkscaper (when in front of Inkscape), learn to achieve the same results with native Inkscape features. Using the XML editor, the transformations dialog (Ctrl+Shift+M, allows relative and absolute values), guides and double-clicking on them (allows absolute and relative moves, so by duplicating a guide and then relative-moving it, you can create offsets), align and distribute with its many options (Ctrl+Shift+A), object/grid snapping, etc, almost anything can be done. Also very precise work. Only the approach is different.

Coming from CAD, I think the biggest change in way of thinking is: first duplicate or create an object in place, then transform. Instead of, like in CAD, immediately provide all parameters and see it appear in place.
For instance, if you need to move object A to a certain distance from object B: first place it on top of object B, then move it (with mouse, arrows, by editing XML or by using transformation dialog). (Whereas in CAD I would grab a reference point instead of the object itself, this can't be done in Inkscape (I think). Or I would just provide values, which can be done in XML editor but not as easily as in CAD software).

I think Inkscape is a great program and really a total open source success story - it really works very, very well. So I decided to go with it. In the end I wouldn't even know how good CAD tools would have to look like in Inkscape, I wouldn't know what to propose or ask for, very concretely.

For those who still want CAD-like tools in Inkscape, maybe clicking "does this bug affect you?" for bug/feature request #171128 might bump up its importance?
Portfolio bartovan.com
Tumblr / Instagram / Pinterest / Facebook / Twitter / OpenClipArt
Shop at Society6 / RedBubble
Using latest stable Inkscape on Ubuntu (current stable release) and Win 7.


Return to “Inkscape Ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests