RUNTIME ERROR

This is NOT a support forum. You are welcome to discuss software issues here, but all issues should be reported on Launchpad if you want them fixed.
enzed
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:22 am

RUNTIME ERROR

Postby enzed » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:13 am

What is the cause of the 'runtime error' and subsequent shutdown of Inkscape? See attached screenprint of the error message.

Thank you,
enzed
Attachments
Inkscape runtime error.svg
(55.29 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

Moini
Posts: 2331
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: RUNTIME ERROR

Postby Moini » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:02 pm

Depends. What have you been doing when you got the crash?

Also:
What is your operating system, which Inkscape version are you using, which file from the inkscape.org website did you use for installing? Can you reproduce the error reliably?
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

enzed
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:22 am

Re: RUNTIME ERROR

Postby enzed » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:03 am

Hello Moini,

The operating system is Windows 10. I am using version 0.92.2-x64, to upgrage, and which I downloaded using the 64-bit option. Other than this, I don't know which file I used, I just followed instructions. I did not experience this problem with the older version.

I cannot remember exactly what I was doing when the error message suddenly appeared, but I think that I was dragging nodes to different positions, to change the shape of a 'stroke to path' shape.

enzed

Moini
Posts: 2331
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: RUNTIME ERROR

Postby Moini » Wed Feb 14, 2018 5:12 am

There is a bug in Inkscape 0.92.2 that causes a crash when dragging on nodes, or on paths very close to a node.
It will be fixed in Inkscape 0.92.3.

If you frequently run into that crash and need a fix right away, you can use a development version, e.g. currently, the latest one is available here:
https://ci.appveyor.com/project/inkscap ... /artifacts
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

enzed
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:22 am

Re: RUNTIME ERROR

Postby enzed » Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:24 am

Thank you for the advice Moini, I will do so.
enzed


Return to “Discuss Software Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest