Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

This is NOT a support forum. You are welcome to discuss software issues here, but all issues should be reported on Launchpad if you want them fixed.
jonathan.holvey
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:07 am

Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby jonathan.holvey » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:21 pm

Hi,

I've been having issues using the text tool in the latest 0.92 pre-releases for Windows. The problem is that the minimum line spacing seems to be limited, and setting the Spacing between baselines option to anything less than a particular value has no effect. This value appears to be is dependent on the text size, but I haven't been able to work out the exact relationship. The larger the font, the less pronounced the problem.

Image

Has anyone else experienced this issue? Version 0.91 seems to be fine, so I imagine the introduction of selectable units for the line height in 0.92 has something to do with it.

Note that I've tried to report this on Launchpad, but I'm having trouble authenticating my Ubuntu1 account. I'll try again a bit later.

Edit: I've found that the minimum line height is set when the text object is created. No matter the value chosen, this will become the minimum value available for the life of the object.

Cheers,
Jon
Last edited by jonathan.holvey on Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:39 pm

The current 0.92pre version, compiled from the source, is even worse, imho. It fixes a couple of issues, but introduces new ones and has a really confusing interface, with a very crowded text tool toolbar. I hope they won't release it like that, because I'll stay with 0.91 then, and won't be able to give support for 0.92 easily. Sometimes hiding complexity is a good thing.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

jonathan.holvey
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:07 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby jonathan.holvey » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:43 am

The biggest problem I've encountered is when editing files created using Inkscape 0.91 and earlier. Any multi-line text objects will have their formatting messed up, and the only way to fix it (short of reinstalling 0.91) is to delete and re-create these objects from scratch.

Manually editing the XML might also be an option, but I haven't looked into this yet.

User avatar
Maestral
Posts: 896
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:10 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Maestral » Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:41 pm

My experience with late editions and fonts is also not so great but it does look strange to see on your screenshot 1 em as line spacing where it should be 4 or 5. Could this particular example be related to the font itself?

For some reason, I still can`t figure why, and I`m also not quite sure when it would happen - line spacing is increased by 10 times (of font size). Oddly enough, it would not happen after restart if I set all from the Text toolbar to my likings and then go trough Text dialog to set that particular font as default one. Still, for some reason, it would occur again at some point.

Just in case, if ~suv drops by, I currently have installed 0.48.5 r 10040 on a Win7 x32 and on D drive, just extracted from zip, pre1 15062 and pre3 15195. I`m aware these are sharing the preferences but have no clue how to set "an agreement" on that matter. If I changed anything in Preferences on these pre 1 and 3, it was in order to "align" them all.

p.s.
On some other topic, there were also a few things said about the fonts and how Inkscape handles them in later editions which reminded me of Tavmjong`s comments regarding that matter - but was unable to find it. Does anybody know what I`m talking about and where I could find more about it? Just to place it in time, it should correspond with the arrival of an IS edition where I first noticed "previously used fonts" (from a toolbar) and some glitches on Text dialog while choosing the font from the list.

tylerdurden
Posts: 1548
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby tylerdurden » Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:54 pm

As I recall, Tav's extensive comments on text handling in IS focused on font styles and variants like bold, italic, narrow, etc... maybe not so much on spacing and units.

I think there are a slew of known issues with the proposed improvements on text spacing, units and such.
Have a nice day.

I'm using 0.92.1 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Sat Dec 24, 2016 6:34 am

Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

ChrisLo
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:11 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby ChrisLo » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:00 pm

Since using Inkscape 0.92.0 r15299 I'm also really struggling with text formatting GUI regarding spacing between baselines.
While reading some bug reports I found https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bug/1590141 + https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bug/1617692
I still could not figure out why sometimes editing the spacing works and other times not.
Are there any new comments regarding r15299 on this issue?

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:24 am

I'm struggling with this, too (and I've kept 0.91 for texts... and installed 0.92 for drawing). In the release notes, there's a long paragraph describing the changes, but I find the GUI extremely confusing, and also can't make it do what I want, as it always switches back to some other value, or does strange things. http://wiki.inkscape.org/wiki/index.php ... notes/0.92

If you've got old text in old files that looks off when you open it with 0.92, try running the extension written by suv: https://gitlab.com/su-v/inx-legacytext/tree/master
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

~suv
Posts: 2255
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 2:07 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby ~suv » Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:29 am

Moini wrote:If you've got old text in old files that looks off when you open it with 0.92, try running the extension written by suv su-v (aka ~suv here in the forum ;-) ): <snip/>

The context of the extension is explained in the bug report where I submitted it for inclusion: ZIP archives of the latest version of the extension (for testing) can be downloaded here:

hulf2012
Posts: 714
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:37 pm

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby hulf2012 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:44 am

Greetings

First of all, congratulations for the release of Inkscape 0.92 !

I have Ubuntu 14.04. Doing an Update-software, Ubuntu actualized to Inkscape 0.92. So, thank You to the one that updated the repos for this version

I also see issues (or new behaviours) with the GUI related with the text tools. Even with new text created with this version, as other users have pointed before.
- When pressing the "question", the inter-lining resets to 1.25
- When pressing the "question" button, You can change from 1.25 to 0.25 to 0.0, and then from 0 to 1.0 to 2.0
- The letters only can be sized to pts... not other units are allowed (?)
- If the question button is not pressed, the interlining doesn't change when the letter fonts size change
If you have problems:
1.- Post a sample (or samples) of your file please.
2.- Please check here:
http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/index.html
3.- If you manage to solve your problem, please post here your solution.

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:18 am

I'm still waiting for someone to explain which of the new behaviours are bugs, and which are just quirky GUI (and what I need to do to get the old behaviour back). I hope Tav will come back soon and help clear that up.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

unifire
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby unifire » Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:28 pm

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.0 r15299 on Linux Debian and Windows 7. Both have the same issue that the baseline spacing is messed up.
To reproduce this I just created a new empty file and made a test filed with two lines.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9167
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby brynn » Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:21 pm

I could be wrong, and maybe I just don't understand everything about this issue. But can't users simply change the number in the spinbox, to fix it? Yes, I realize it has to be fixed every time you open a file (old or new). But at least it can be easily fixed.

If it's something more, maybe we should list all the issues, so future visitors might not have to post a new topic? Or link to a bug report, if there is one. We could even make a sticky topic (via Xav) if it would be helpful.

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:40 am

Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

unifire
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby unifire » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:24 am

Hi brynn

When i open inkscape and make a new two column text, the size is 30 and the space is 6.61mm. When I change the size to 10, the space is still 6.61mm. Of course i can now change the space but unfortunately I see only an effect down to 3mm. From 0mm to 3mm change happens. So I can not adjust this correctly. In addition the default settings size 30 and space 6.61mm shows already an overlapping text.

Does someone has an Idea how I could debug and figure out the root cause of this?

I have now used also a fresh windows 7 and installed the windows 0.92 binary. I have the same effect.

unifire
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby unifire » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:03 am

I have checked the change log and found the section about Line Spacing:

http://wiki.inkscape.org/wiki/index.php ... ne_Spacing

So I changed the spacing between baselines to a unit-less values. I used the value 1. It seams to work well for font values above the size of 16. However, the size of 10 is more likely the line space of 2 even my space is set to 1. So it looks very wrong on small font sizes.

unifire
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby unifire » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:09 am

There is a fix for legacy documents: Extension for 0.92.x to fix line spacing in legacy documents

https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bug/1652340

However, I still think the 0.92 behaves very strange: The default unit for the text space is mm and not unit-less and lower values do not show the expected result as I described in my comment above. Any suggestions?

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:27 pm

Yes, that's an issue with loading the unitless or relative unit value from the preferences file:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bug/1645016
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:28 pm

@unifire: Did you set the line height for the outer text element to something very small? This is now required, if you set the line height for the individual lines separately. The line-height of the whole text element determines the minimum line-height.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:29 pm

(and I agree, I'd prefer better default values)
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9167
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby brynn » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:36 pm

Isn't this one of the bugs they hope to fix with 0.92.1? If so, it looks like it's coming down the pike pretty quickly. Already we have 0.91pre0!

Moini
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Problem with text baseline spacing (line height) in 0.92 Pre

Postby Moini » Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:55 am

I don't think they did address the default loading bug yet... and I'm not sure if they will be able to before the release :-/ They're currently working on the conversion problems for old files.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)


Return to “Discuss Software Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest