Broken export routine

This is NOT a support forum. You are welcome to discuss software issues here, but all issues should be reported on Launchpad if you want them fixed.
trogladyte
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 2:07 am

Broken export routine

Postby trogladyte » Sat Jun 03, 2017 2:18 am

I have dozens of older files created in the old version of Inkscape. With the latest version (0.92.), I am unable to set the correct dimensions with one always changing to "1" and the DPI changing to 100000. At first, I thought it was old files, but I just checked again, and it's a brand new file and a single filled rectangle.

I cannot export it correctly, it defaults to 16 x 16 at 100000 dpi. Going to go back to the old version - I liked it better anyway.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9539
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Broken export routine

Postby brynn » Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:51 am

If you'd like to provide us with more details, we might be able to help you solve the problem. I can't imagine what it is that's' changing to "1". Do you mean that when you change the DPI in the Export PNG dialog, it doesn't stay there, and it's changing to 100000? If that's what's happening, there certainly must either be some explanation, or it's a bug. But we can't discover anything, either way, without more details.

When you open an old file with 0.92 or 0.92.1, do you see the Old Inkscape File Detected dialog, which offers you 2 different ways to automatically scale either the file or the objects in it?

If you could share the specific file with us, we could help you figure out what the problem is. You can attach it to....well I don't think you can make attachments in this board. But you could upload it anywhere you choose, and give us the link to it.

trogladyte
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 2:07 am

Re: Broken export routine

Postby trogladyte » Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:58 am

Just discovered the problem - pilot error! DOH. Just never noticed before that there's 4 tabs across the top of the Export Pane. Mine obviously always defaulted to "Selection". I just looked and it was on "Custom" although I would have expected that to work differently than it did. Switched back to selection and all is good.

Apologies!

tylerdurden
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Broken export routine

Postby tylerdurden » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:51 am

I don't think you can make attachments in this board.

Attachments are permitted. (You can also link if you like.)
Attachments
Im_An_Attachment.svg
(2.89 KiB) Downloaded 176 times
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

trogladyte
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 2:07 am

Re: Broken export routine

Postby trogladyte » Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:00 am

Weird. I already replied to this, but the post is nowhere to be seen. I found it was actually my fault. I had the "Custom" tab selected, not "Selection". Changed it and all back to normal. Though I have no idea why, if "Custom" is selected, the program automatically changed parameters.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9539
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Broken export routine

Postby brynn » Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:49 pm

tylerdurden wrote:
I don't think you can make attachments in this board.

Attachments are permitted.


Aarrgh - I can never remember which boards allow attachments!


Return to “Discuss Software Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests