[solved]Trace Bitmap stops working after undo

This is NOT a support forum. You are welcome to discuss software issues here, but all issues should be reported on Launchpad if you want them fixed.
Old Grey
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:26 am

[solved]Trace Bitmap stops working after undo

Postby Old Grey » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:13 pm

I Trace Bitmap a jpg and undo, and then Trace Bitmap seams to stop working. To clear it you either have to close the page down and start again, or delete the svg in XML Editor and import again.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWcpnGX4x30&feature=youtu.be

It would be good if you could Undo with having to start again.

Win7 64
INK 092pre3 15195
Last edited by Old Grey on Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Xav
Posts: 967
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 1:18 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trace Bitmap stops working after undo

Postby Xav » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:21 pm

As is so often the case in Inkscape, the status bar gives you a big clue as to the problem. Undoing removes the traced image, but doesn't re-select the bitmap image. When you try to trace again, the status bar says "Select an image to trace", or something similar, indicating that you need to re-select the bitmap first.

Unfortunately the trace bitmap dialog doesn't help very much in this regard by keeping the old preview visible. It should really clear it out if you try to preview with no image selected. Feel free to raise an issue about this on Inkscape's bugtracker, as I'm certain you're not the only person to have been caught out.
Co-creator of The Greys and Monsters, Inked - Inkscape drawn webcomics
Web SiteFacebookTwitter

Old Grey
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:26 am

Re: Trace Bitmap stops working after undo

Postby Old Grey » Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:05 pm

That's annoying. I have a habit of ignoring the bottom msg, because when I started I had a big problem with it when it miss lead me by only giving me half the story.

So it changes selection from the jpg to the svg, and when you delete it it takes the selection with it, rather than it reverting back to the jpg.

I reselected and it's fine, and the remnant of the last image doesn't bother me now I know what's going on.

Thanks


Return to “Discuss Software Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests