Adding or injecting new tool in toolbar?

Discussion about writing code for Inkscape.
caseygadd
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:33 pm

Adding or injecting new tool in toolbar?

Postby caseygadd » Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:41 pm

Any way to add a new tool to the toolbar or command bar? It would be nice to have an extension with its own button.

User avatar
Ponny
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:02 am
Location: Mystic kingdom of Krakovo

Re: Adding or injecting new tool in toolbar?

Postby Ponny » Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:26 am

Me too ;)
Did you see the indigo Pony, when he came from other side wall of the night?

Moini
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Adding or injecting new tool in toolbar?

Postby Moini » Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:39 am

This will be possible in 0.93, as far as I understand.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

caseygadd
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:33 pm

Re: Adding or injecting new tool in toolbar?

Postby caseygadd » Fri Mar 16, 2018 6:00 am

That is what I see too, I was hoping there was a way to fudge it until then. looks like there is a lot of work to do before it can be released.

Moini
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Adding or injecting new tool in toolbar?

Postby Moini » Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:01 am

If you write C++, then you can do anything :) (and would need to contact the developers about help with it, via devel mailing list or IRC developer channel)
(but tool bars are going to change a lot in 0.93, so you won't be able to take that code with you to the next version).
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)


Return to “Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests