double-clicking to add node problems

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.
anon13
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:59 am

double-clicking to add node problems

Postby anon13 » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:03 am

I was trying to create an example to post a question but came across another problem in the meantime!
I'm trying to add a node under the mouse but it's not working. But when I copied the path to a new document and double-clicked, it worked. Is the document glitchy or is it to do with grouping, or am I just doing something silly?
Inkscape 0.91 / Windows 7 / 64bit

Lazur
Posts: 4691
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:38 am

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby Lazur » Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:00 am

By double clicking you can enter the groups. Keep an eye to the bottom of the window for the indication line.
(X -number of objects- grouped in g1237 etc.)

If you want to edit a path in a group, you can use the node tool to select it with better luck.


On a side note pressing the Spacebar is/was switching between last used tools, and switching from object select to node select tool was that easy -in 0.91 it interferes with panning as it was also assigned to the same key shortcut.

anon13
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:59 am

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby anon13 » Fri Dec 11, 2015 7:28 am

I'm sorry that I'm not explaining the problem very well; I've got the path selected already and I'm double-clicking with the node tool but a node isn't being created under the arrow. But if I copy the path that I'm trying to change in to a new document and double-click with the node tool then a new node appears.
Inkscape 0.91 / Windows 7 / 64bit

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Fri Dec 11, 2015 1:27 pm

There is a bug....I'm not sure if it's ever been reported, but I think it's known. I came across this problem years ago (before I even knew what a bug was) and discussed to some extent (with other members here, perhaps 1 was a developer, memory is old).

When you have the mouse positioned over the path, does the pointer/cursor change to the hand?

In some paths (no rhyme or reason which or what kind of path, afaik) when the mouse is over the path, and the hand should be showing, it doesn't show in every part of the path. And when it doesn't show, it can't add a node.

I can't do it at this moment. But I'll try to make a test case, to show....hopefully tonight, but asap if not. (This problem still happens for me sometimes, so I don't think has been fixed.)
Last edited by brynn on Fri Dec 11, 2015 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: typo

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Fri Dec 11, 2015 1:38 pm

However, that's just one possibility. If the path has a spiro spline LPE applied to it, the actual path could be in a completely different place than the line you see.

Or I think this could happen if the line is part of a pattern. In that case, you'll need to convert the pattern back to object. Then after you add the node, convert back to pattern.

For spiro spline, move the mouse around until you see the hand. Then you'll know you're over the path. Or remove the LPE, place the node, reapply LPE.

Edit
I feel like I'm forgetting something really obvious...... :roll:

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Fri Dec 11, 2015 1:47 pm

This might happen with other LPEs too, like powerstroke, for a 2nd one.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Fri Dec 11, 2015 2:28 pm

Hhmmm, maybe has been fixed. I can't seem to make a test case.

Anyway, anon13, if LPE or pattern doesn't seem to apply to your case, can you share your SVG file with us?

User avatar
bartovan
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 4:14 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby bartovan » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:42 pm

I sometimes seem to have the same problem (that double-click with node-tool doesn't add node), so I usually use Alt+Ctrl+leftclick, that always seems to work.
Portfolio bartovan.com
Tumblr / Instagram / Pinterest / Facebook / Twitter / OpenClipArt
Shop at Society6 / RedBubble
Using latest stable Inkscape on Ubuntu (current stable release) and Win 7.

anon13
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:59 am

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby anon13 » Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:20 am

brynn: The hand seems to appear and disappear at will as I move over the path; why does it do this?
I made sure the hand was showing when I doubled-clicked but still no node added.

I hardly even know that LPEs exist so definitely not on this project.
What do you mean about a line being part of a pattern?
Did you think of what you were forgetting or was your mind playing mean tricks on you?!

Thank you for trying anyway.
I doubt the file will attach since I could only seem to attach a dinky screenshot on my other forum question.


bartovan: Alt+Ctrl+leftclick worked; hurray! Thank you so much for this, especially if I continue to have problems and this keeps working.


But why then does double-clicking sometimes work and sometimes not??
Inkscape 0.91 / Windows 7 / 64bit

Moini
Posts: 3183
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby Moini » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:38 pm

(btw. anon13: is it only your forum signature that still uses Inkscape 0.48.4? Or did you miss 0.48.5 and 0.91?)
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:57 pm

Unless the SVG file is huge, you should be able to attach it. And tell or show us the path where you can't add a node.

It could be that bug still exists, but I just haven't been able to reproduce. As I recall from that long ago discussion (it's on the forum, somewhere....) someone (someone with advanced skills, not sure if developer or not) was aware of the issue. OH! I remember the file where I had the problem. I'll open it and look for it. Maybe I'll search for the discussion too.

If you made a custom pattern....like series of stars, to fill an object with stars. But maybe you don't even know what I'm talking about, then it's probably not relevant here.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Sat Dec 12, 2015 2:34 pm

anon13 wrote:brynn: The hand seems to appear and disappear at will as I move over the path; why does it do this?
I made sure the hand was showing when I doubled-clicked but still no node added.


The hand is just an indication that you're in the right place to click or double-click.

Off topic:
Ok, I found the old file where I was seeing that problem all the time. And now, it happens never. I think it must have been fixed.

I also found that old topic! Note that reading it is not necessary for this topic....but it's interesting to reach back into the past sometimes. Sorry for all my chattering in it, if you decide to read it. A lot of you probably think I write too much text now -- was much worse, back then :lol:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1387
But again, afaict it seems to have been fixed.

Back then, before someone pointed out the issue where the little hand did not appear where it should, I had a different theory (back then using WinXP and only 1.25 gb of RAM, which I thought was huge back then :lol: ). I thought if I was working in a large file, that was challenging my RAM, that it was causing the 2nd click of the double-click not to be recognized.....that by the time Inkscape recognized the first click, the 2nd click....sort of timed out.

You think I'm not so tech-savvy now -- was also much worse back then :lol: Now, I don't think that the 2nd click being timed out is possible at all.

End Off Topic

If we can see your SVG file, it would help.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Mon Dec 14, 2015 2:28 am

Twice now, since this topic was posted, I've found path segments where the hand does not appear, when it should be. But both times, when I paste the object into a new file, to attach it as a case study; the hand appears as expected.

So I think it's something about the specific files.....or maybe the specific path, somehow, that's causing this. What it might be that's causing it, I haven't got a clue :roll:

Glad to troubleshoot, if anyone wants to tell me what to look for ;)

anon13
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:59 am

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby anon13 » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:53 am

Moini: I hadn't been on the forum for a while so forgot to update my signature, really sorry. I've changed it now.


brynn: I wouldn't be suprised if the svg is huge, but maybe it was just the way I was trying to attach the file.

Bravo for remembering!

Ohhh, so it's not that part of paths can't have new nodes but more that if the mouse is too far away from the path then??
No need to be sorry, I like chattering :D Probably because I write a lot! So I'm sorry for all my writing on my multiple posts.
That's what I was thinking!! Especially since the alt+ctrl+click thing worked.

Of course I don't. Besides, I'm not exactly tech savvy myself!

I'm glad that it's not me just going crazy or being stupid. It's just so weird how pasting to a new document works, eh.
Inkscape 0.91 / Windows 7 / 64bit

~suv
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 2:07 am

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby ~suv » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:53 am

Known issue(s) (AFAIU depending on details of the exact path geometry), tracked in

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: double-clicking to add node problems

Postby brynn » Mon Dec 14, 2015 9:29 am

Oh yes, those all describe the problem in the old message I dug up.

I used to see the problem regularly, but don't anymore. So it seems to be at least partially fixed, from that experience. But I suppose I'm not really in a position to be able to dicuss.

Thanks ~suv :D

Ohhh, so it's not that part of paths can't have new nodes but more that if the mouse is too far away from the path then??

Partially right. The path can have new nodes. But for some reason, the hand isn't displayed, which I think means Inkscape doesn't recognize the path in that area.

Normally the hand only shows when the mouse is over the path. As far as I know, it's meant to be an indication that the mouse is in the right place to do whatever you're trying to do (could be double-click to add a new node, could be grabbing the path to drag a curve, etc.). So it's normal for the hand to go away when the mouse is not over the path. But when the mouse IS over the path but the hand doesn't show, that's the bug.


Return to “Help with using Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests