How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.
Kyronea

How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby Kyronea » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:54 am

So occasionally I run Inkscape from a jump drive. When doing so I can't choose any fonts; it defaults to "Sans." It does this even if I include fonts on the jump drive. How do I tell it where to look for the fonts?

SureWhyNot
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 11:37 pm
Location: United States

Re: How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby SureWhyNot » Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:36 pm

If you're using Windows, Inkscape (and almost every other program) will look for fonts in your Windows font folder, located in the control panel.

If you have access to a computer's font folder, you can just copy the fonts from your jump drive into that folder.

Kyronea

Re: How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby Kyronea » Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:06 am

That's what I thought, but for some reason it wasn't doing that.

Maybe because the computer I was running it on was using Vista? (Though I had Paint.NET on the jump drive as well, and it read the fonts no problem...hence my confusion.)

User avatar
microUgly
Site Admin
Posts: 2985
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby microUgly » Tue Apr 21, 2009 7:45 pm

I assumed Inkscape would pick up the fonts from the environment, so it wouldn't need to know the path. What happens if you copy Inkscape to C:\ and run it?

Kyronea

Re: How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby Kyronea » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:59 am

Same thing happens. I can open the font list, but all the options are greyed out and it just reverts to "Sans" when I try to type text. I think it's probably Vista's permissions rather than the jump drive, though. I don't understand why it interferes with Inkscape and not other programs, but it does. If I had another XP computer I could test it on, I'd test it on there, but I don't have access to one; all the other computers I have access to run Vista.

User avatar
microUgly
Site Admin
Posts: 2985
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby microUgly » Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:16 am

Wait, is the issue that you don't see your fonts listed, or that the fonts are listed but can't be selected?

There's a bug with Inkscape where you can't select the font from the dropdown list, but if you open Text & Font window you can change fonts.

Kyronea

Re: How To Set Font Location When Using Jump Drive

Postby Kyronea » Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:43 pm

microUgly wrote:Wait, is the issue that you don't see your fonts listed, or that the fonts are listed but can't be selected?

There's a bug with Inkscape where you can't select the font from the dropdown list, but if you open Text & Font window you can change fonts.

The fonts are listed and can't be selected. That's probably what the issue is. Sorry for not realizing it was this bug.


Return to “Help with using Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests