save dialogs positions

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.
otx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:03 pm

save dialogs positions

Postby otx » Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:30 pm

Hi,

I couldn't find any information related to my problem, however I can hardly believe that nobody wants to get the same user interface each time he start working with Inkscape. So obviously I'm missing something. I like this program and I want to get familiar with Inkscape, but for me it's vital to have the same user interface what I have left when I closed the application. I searched the Preferences for this feature, but there is no such option. Maybe if I swich to floating dialogs I can save their positions with KDE, but this way I lose the posibility to scroll the dialogs and it will take a lot of space on my desktop. So how can I save the user interface in a way that when I start Inkscape all my dialogs are in the exact same positions where I left them last time???

Thanks!
Last edited by otx on Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
prkos
Posts: 1625
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Croatia

Re: save dialogs positions

Postby prkos » Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:03 pm

It's already in the bug tracker, it just hasn't been tackled yet https://bugs.launchpad.net/inkscape/+bug/171579
just hand over the chocolate and nobody gets hurt

Inkscape Manual on Floss
Inkscape FAQ
very comprehensive Inkscape guide
Inkscape 0.48 Illustrator's Cookbook - 109 recipes to learn and explore Inkscape - with SVG examples to download

otx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:03 pm

Re: save dialogs positions

Postby otx » Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:25 am

Hi,

Thanks for the answer. I hope this function will be implemented in the next release (currently I'm using the latest svn). It's kind of annoying to start pressing Ctr+A, F, M each time I start Inkscape. It's a litle bit strange that a software with such powerful tools doesn't have this basic setting. In Adobe suite for example you can save as many workspaces as you like and change them on the fly. Something similar would be great in Inkscape too. Or at least the possibility to save the default one. Thanks again, it's good to know that sometime (let's hope in the near future :) ) we will have this feature.

User avatar
prkos
Posts: 1625
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Croatia

Re: save dialogs positions

Postby prkos » Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:50 am

The new version is coming out soon, in a couple of weeks, and no new features are added during this time, so unfortunately I doubt you'll see it in 0.47 http://www.inkscape.org/archive.php?lan ... 9&month=04

I've seen this feature requested by several other people, maybe one of the developers will also feel this itch and scratch it for 0.48 :)
just hand over the chocolate and nobody gets hurt

Inkscape Manual on Floss
Inkscape FAQ
very comprehensive Inkscape guide
Inkscape 0.48 Illustrator's Cookbook - 109 recipes to learn and explore Inkscape - with SVG examples to download

CarlCravens
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:32 am

Re: save dialogs positions

Postby CarlCravens » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:16 am

prkos wrote:I've seen this feature requested by several other people, maybe one of the developers will also feel this itch and scratch it for 0.48 :)


I would contribute money (say, US$20) toward a bounty for this feature.

For someone who opens up one file and works on it for hours, this isn't a big deal. But I may open twenty or thirty files in an hour to make minor changes to each one, and I want to see the layers dialog nearly every time, and this gets pretty tedious.


Return to “Help with using Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests