Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set?

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.
seans_potato_biz
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:01 am

Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set?

Postby seans_potato_biz » Fri Oct 06, 2017 4:06 pm

Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set? Is that deliberate? It doesn't seem like a useful "feature" to me. I wanted to make two sets of tiled clones from one parent.
Win 7/10, Inkscape 0.92.2

We don't inherit the Earth from our parents; we borrow it from our children.

Moini
Posts: 2048
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set?

Postby Moini » Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:49 am

Stumbled about that, too, and don't know if it's intended or not. The issue is probably with the 'Remove' button and what it will remove exactly ('remove last' and 'remove all' could be options...)
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

tylerdurden
Posts: 1744
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set?

Postby tylerdurden » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:57 am

All this time I've been using the remove button.... :lol:

If you want to workaround, you can clone one of the original clones and use different tile settings - updating the original parent will update all.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9534
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set?

Postby brynn » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:16 am

I see this too, 0.92.2, 64-bit 7z package, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.

Has anyone researched this? I mean, if the 2nd click removes the results of the first click, what is the Remove button for? It would seem to be inappropriate behavior.

Although having taken some time to test, it seems to be happening as far back as 0.47. Didn't test any further back than that.

I didn't find any bug reports, which would seem to indicate it's not a bug (or would be reported by now, surely).

But I'm curious enough that I'll probably post to the user mailing list, just to find out. I'll post if I get any replies.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 9534
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Creating a second set of tiled clones deletes the first set?

Postby brynn » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:16 pm

Subsequent testing reveals that the first array is deleted whenever the same parent is used to make another array - not just when the 2nd array immediately follows the first. Now I''ve made a few arrays with a few different parent objects, after the first array with the first object. When I go back and select the first object, and try to create a new array, the first array is replaced by the 2nd.

Here's the archive link for the message I sent to the mailing list, in case someone wants to follow it, without subscribing to the list. https://sourceforge.net/p/inkscape/mail ... /36068041/


Return to “Help with using Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests