Font

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.
Foxie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 4:37 pm

Font

Postby Foxie » Fri May 24, 2019 4:44 pm

Am new to this but am watching a video where he types in some font and then clicks on a T which is on a top row of icons in order to edit his font (e.g. make it italic)
My Inkscape page does not have this long row of icons visible. Where do I find this?

Thanks to someone who can help.

User avatar
druban
Posts: 1819
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: Font

Postby druban » Fri May 24, 2019 5:30 pm

View menu/ show/hide /commands bar
Your mind is what you think it is.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10307
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Font

Postby brynn » Fri May 24, 2019 7:15 pm

Or, if you have Inkscape set up for Wide view (View menu > Wide) then the command bar is on the right side of the window, and the T icon might not be visible.

You can either set it for View menu > Default, to put the command bar back on top, or click on the tiny arrow at the bottom of the command bar (on the right) and click on "Text and Font".

Edit
However, having said all that, all the features of the Text tool are available on the control bar. No matter which view mode you use, the control bar is always at the top, just above the horizontal ruler. I haven't used the Text and Font dialog for a long time.

Although I do understand, if you're following a tutorial, you want to do it the same way as the tutorial.

Moini
Posts: 3246
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Font

Postby Moini » Fri May 24, 2019 10:49 pm

They're not, if your screen isn't a wide screen. You may need to click on the little icon on the right of the tool controls to show those that don't fit.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

Foxie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 4:37 pm

Re: Font

Postby Foxie » Tue May 28, 2019 2:44 pm

YES! THANKS! to all of you! I'm operating both a Mac and a PC. On the Mac no prob but on the PC I went to View and noticed it was on 'Wide' (small bullet point next to it). Clicked on 'Custom'and magically a whole new tool bar, including the 'T' appeared above. Cheers guys


Return to “Help with using Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests