Creating PDF in Inkscape

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.

Creating PDF in Inkscape

Postby usedtoberoche » Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:24 am

Let ms start by saying I love Inkscape - however I am quite new to this so I am still learning so if I am being a bit of a twit here = please forgive me.

I have created an SVG image and saved it - it looks fantastic. However - if I save it as a PDF one of the graphics (its a little heart I made which was imported as a PNG file made in GIMP with a transparent background) becomes messed up when I reopen the pdf in inkscape . If I open it in PDF format it looks OK but we are sending this offsite and they then import it into illustrator where it also goes wrong.

What happens is when I open the PDF - thumbnail it shows me is all black except for this one little heart .. and then when the pdf opens - it has the rest of the image OK image OK but this one little hear appears upside down. on Closer inspection - its seems to have greated a group of these little hearts and if I ungroup the heart - it then shows a full page of these little buggers the same size as the rest of the image - all upside down!!

I have attached the pdf file below so you can see.

Can anyone help me - would really appreciate!

Once again apols if this is something I have done wrong.

Claire
Attachments
whitequeen2.jpg
whitequeen2.jpg (63.57 KiB) Viewed 829 times
usedtoberoche

Re: Creating PDF in Inkscape

Postby druban » Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:49 am

Hi. Your PDF is not attached. Can you post the SVG? Probably more useful.
Those who have not read Animal Farm are condemned to relive it.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
druban

Postby usedtoberoche » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:05 am

usedtoberoche

Postby usedtoberoche » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:12 am

ALso - I have send the chap working with the file - the SVG file - so hopefully he can work from that - even though thatyhave always asked for PDF files.
usedtoberoche

Postby druban » Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:43 am