Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Post questions on how to use or achieve an effect in Inkscape.
perkunas
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:47 pm

Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby perkunas » Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:53 pm

I'm new to this program and its very frustrating, I want to make a simple box, so I use the box tool, but I can only fill it no borders. I google this problem and others have had the same problem and one of them gave up with inkscape altogether.Why would you hide this function, or make it hard to use, and where is it anyway Ahhhh.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10309
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby brynn » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:38 pm

Welcome to InkscapeForum!

First, I'm not sure if you're talking about the Rectangle tool :tool_rectangle: or the 3D Box tool :tool_3dbox: . The Rectangle tool should be drawing a stroke and a fill, unless you've changed that by drawing a rectangle and removine the stroke. If that's the case, since you know how to remove it, you would probably know how to replace it....unless you share your computer and someone else also uses your Inkscape. There are a few different ways to add a stroke. The simplest to explain is Hold the Shift key while you click a color on the palette (whatever color you want for the stroke)

The 3D Box tool does draw 3D boxes without strokes. But it's the same simple matter to add a stroke if you want. Select with Selection tool :tool_selector: then add a stroke. There are a few different ways to add a stroke. The simplest to explain is Hold the Shift key while you click a color on the palette (whatever color you want for the stroke).

I can't imagine anyone giving up using Inkscape over such a simple issue. So either they were terribly impatient; or maybe I still don't understand what you're asking. If not, please clarify what you mean :D

Also, please note all the instructional materials in my forum signature :D

chriswww
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby chriswww » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:37 am

I would suggest going through the tutorials that are available in Inkscape help menu. If you then still need help, describe the problem itself as best you can, rather than pouring out frustration. Otherwise your problem description might get a bit lost, which makes it harder for anyone to help you.

perkunas
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby perkunas » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:23 am

The fill and stroke just fills the rectangle with color, it does not give me any edge to the rectangle.
I just made one using paint in like two seconds, Id paste it into this forum but it wont let me.
four lines no fill, rectangle.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10309
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby brynn » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:55 am

Did you try my suggestion (Shift + click on palette color)??

If you're intent on using the Fill and Stroke dialog, you need to go to the Stroke Paint tab, then click the 2nd button from left.

chriswww
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:04 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby chriswww » Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:32 pm

My recollection is that RTFM stands for something similar but not exactly what Brynn wrote. That particular phrasing has the edge to compel people to be a little more self reliant. Not that we're not willing to help either.
Another way to set the fill and stroke, more easily in my view, select your rectangle then right click on one of the colors on the palette along the bottom of the inkscape window and choose Set stroke color.

How easy is it to change the size of a (already drawn) rectangle in Paint? Or, if you cheat by using undo, change the size (or color) of the rectangle once you've drawn something else on top of it....The answer is what sets apart vector and raster graphics programs.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10309
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby brynn » Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:56 pm

chriswww wrote:My recollection is that RTFM stands for something similar but not exactly what Brynn wrote. That particular phrasing has the edge to compel people to be a little more self reliant. Not that we're not willing to help either.

Not me Image I like PT's interpretation of rtfm, but usually it does use a different word than "free".

Xthought
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:13 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Xthought » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:23 am

Are you folks in on this string Kidding me??? The person asked a simple question and guys have the nerve to write to him like that. You may not care about gaining acceptance of this software but

a) It should be intuitive to draw a box.
b) you should not need to read the manual to draw a box... if one does, the developer need to improve the coding
c) Chapter 10? you're really asking someone to head to chapter 10 on the way to doing the start up work of drawing a box.

The responses are the typical and not designed to encourage penetration of this software to new users. The responses are the typical rude ones you get from, not all, but a lot of engineer/tech types.

Finally, have the coders improve the box feature. It fails horribly and its frustrating.

Xthought
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:13 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Xthought » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:43 am

@perkunas

Hi, I suggest you exit the program and restart. I suspect you have inadvertently pressed some keys (SHIFT + others) that put you in a mode that will not allow the box you are trying to create to "stay on the page". One of the responders was perhaps trying to communicate this to you, but the help got lost in a spirit of scolding.

Just try refreshing your program.

Lazur
Posts: 4712
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:38 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Lazur » Tue Feb 11, 2014 9:00 am

@Xthought:

Welcome aboard!

  1. Is that a good idea, to make a first post in a year old topic, criticising previous examples?
    I nearly did the same but I'm guessing it wasn't a good idea.
  2. It should be intuitive, just as everything in life. But without any learning, how could you get to have your own experience?
  3. I haven't read the manual to it's fullness, thus recently discovered I could improve some of my previous solutions for problems.
    It can never heart, if you just read the section you are working with.
  4. The coding needs to be improved without a doubt; by having this program as an open source, the chance to do that is given to you too.
    It's a freeware, and you cannot blame others working hard in their free time for your benefit.
  5. C++ is open to everyone too, and has a pdf describing it -on about 1500 pages.
    By not having the patience to read only 10 short chapters -or more, reading only one, the tenth-, I would say asking for a straight solution, and to describe the exact same thing written down in the manuals is pretty impolite.

Rocktown
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:55 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Rocktown » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:04 pm

I know, dont reply to years old topics blah blah internet sin, etc. etc. etc.

However, I ran into a similar problem and this was the post I eventually found. My issue was solved by checking the Opacity. Both the Opacity of my Create Rectangle function AND my Layer are set to 0% as default for some reason. After an hour yesterday I gave up but coming back today I started anew and noticed my mistake.

I understand the frustration but as a grad student it is my steady state of mind.

a.step
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:50 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby a.step » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:06 pm

Hi all,
I had the same problem as described above and I give up this software just because of it !
Fully agree with the post:
It can't be sooooo difficult to draw just an empty rectangle and if you all suggest to study to do this simple job, which can be done with ANY other Soft in just 0.1 second within the first task, this Soft is a big false....

I wish to quote Xthought:
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:13 am
Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box
Postby Xthought » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:23 am

Are you folks in on this string Kidding me??? The person asked a simple question and guys have the nerve to write to him like that. You may not care about gaining acceptance of this software but

a) It should be intuitive to draw a box.
b) you should not need to read the manual to draw a box... if one does, the developer need to improve the coding
c) Chapter 10? you're really asking someone to head to chapter 10 on the way to doing the start up work of drawing a box.

The responses are the typical and not designed to encourage penetration of this software to new users. The responses are the typical rude ones you get from, not all, but a lot of engineer/tech types.

Finally, have the coders improve the box feature. It fails horribly and its frustrating.

Sorry InkScape, but this is ridiculous !!!!!
This Soft is a big failure .....

a.step
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:50 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby a.step » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:56 pm

@Lazur
Yes, definitively it's a GOOD idea to point out flaws when they are NOT solved 6 years after posted and especially if the internet is full of the same complains and questions....
If you guys think that the users have to follow your way, you will never got their satisfaction!
For sure, you can teach them, but do not blame them, instead of helping them to solve the problem they have.
And if you do not wish to improve your Software, this is your opinion, but do not expect that the user will generate positive feedback...
But maybe this is not your goal.... Up to you!

Yes, It should be intuitive, especially when comes to everyday tasks, which already solved by the competitors.
To get own experience, we need to be able to start immediately, not to search very well hidden information about so simple tasks!

And yes, I have to read the manual, but just to improve some of my previous solutions, not to start to draw a line.....

It's a freeware - that's good, BUT we do NOT complain others working hard in their free time for our benefit, we just pointed out some problems and ask for help, looking forward to improve the results... and for sure the developers aren't working so hard, just to have an unusable programm ;)

"C++ is open to everyone too, and has a pdf describing it -on about 1500 pages." - You, guys aren't developing a creative tool for programmers - you are doing this for the users without programmer skills - and to expect everybody will search and read the manual to the 10. chapter just to know how to start the first track of music on a CD on his new CD-Player is absolutely ridiculous !!!

To blame the customers without helping them IS pretty impolite...

However, I solved the issue and know now how to perform what I wanted, BUT will NOT use this Software and for sure, will not recommend them to any of my colleagues, just because of the post above...

Sorry, guys

Moini
Posts: 3317
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Moini » Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:14 pm

It's not freeware. It's open source. There is a difference. Learn more about it here: https://medium.freecodecamp.org/the-def ... 0d5f9f2282 for example.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

Polygon
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:27 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Polygon » Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:11 am

perkunas wrote:The fill and stroke just fills the rectangle with color, it does not give me any edge to the rectangle.
I just made one using paint in like two seconds, Id paste it into this forum but it wont let me.
four lines no fill, rectangle.

If that´s what´s about here I can´t follow; Clicking on one of 3 rectangles let me adjusting fill&border colours - going back to the 3d-box tool let me alter proportions any further. So what?

Cheers

Moini
Posts: 3317
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Moini » Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:04 am

The user complained that they cannot easily find the stroke tab in the fill and stroke dialog, or automatically know that Shift+Click assigns a stroke. I never found that part difficult, but everyone has their own way of seeing/not seeing things. I think, though, this user is in the minority.
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

User avatar
druban
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 pm

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby druban » Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:23 pm

It's also not designed to be a toy or a game, IMO. The "turn it on and see what happens" approach has to be specifically designed for, and rules out advanced tools. I'm sure there are lots of advocates for an iPhone inkscape app but I can't see it happening in any recognizable form!
Your mind is what you think it is.

Polygon
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:27 am

Re: Trying to use Inkscape making a Rectangle box

Postby Polygon » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:24 pm

I´m not sure if in case of the 3d box it´s self-explanatory. As described I have to use the node tool (or ctrl+alt+LMB as mentioned in the Handbook) to select one of rectangles if I want to adjust colours separately - otherwise I´ll get an overall fill.


Return to “Help with using Inkscape”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests