I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

General discussions about Inkscape.
User avatar
chocwrap
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby chocwrap » Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:07 am

I was trying to understand The Dialogue Boxes in Inkscape preferences (e.g. on a floating box where you change the size and location, how to make it appear or go back to the default position).

I toggled on Save and Restore option - see Screenshot 1
Image

and each time I did, this happened when I opened a new Inkscape file:
Image

Anyone else experienced this?

I'm using Windows 8.1 with 0.92 Inkscape

Caroline

Moini
Posts: 3100
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby Moini » Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:55 am

Yes, I think this is a known bug and has only recently been fixed. Can you compare if the description text of the code change fits to your problem?
http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~inkscape.d ... sion/15374
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

tylerdurden
Posts: 2240
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby tylerdurden » Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:26 am

WRT the OP and dialogs, my setup seems to not properly save the dialogs' status, unless the dockable button is also set.

I did not test the main window, which the bug reports seem to be about.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

User avatar
chocwrap
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby chocwrap » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:25 am

Hmm Moini - thanks for the link but it's double dutch to me - lol

If it's recently been fixed do I need to delete my copy of Inkscape, download another one from the inkscape.org site and the issue will be resolved.

Or something else?

I'm not a technical person. At all. ;)

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10206
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby brynn » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:34 am

Hhm, I'm not sure if that description (that Moini linked) fits what I see or understand.

What is your goal, or the behavior you want to see?

That option that you indicated means that whatever dialogs were open when you closed Inkscape last time, those will be open already, the next time you open Inkscape. As far as I understand, that goes for docked or not docked.

As far as I understand, that option doesn't affect what size the dialogs are. Just which ones will be open, and which closed, when you first open Inkscape.

(e.g. on a floating box where you change the size and location, how to make it appear or go back to the default position)


For undocked dialogs ("floating") you make it appear by clicking the button or menu item, or key shortcut which calls it up. If you don't save the size/position of the dialog (by checking the options in Inkscape Preferences), they will always appear in the same place. You can move them, but the next time you open Inkscape, they'll be back in their default position.

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10206
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby brynn » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:36 am

Oops, you posted while I was typing.

I'm not sure there's anything wrong. Tell us how you want Inkscape to behave, and we can tell you which options to choose.

Edit
Are you asking how to dock them (attach to the right side of the window)?

tylerdurden
Posts: 2240
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby tylerdurden » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:28 am

OK, I think I got it sorted.

Dialog status is not saved in Floating mode, and therefore, Inkscape only recalls the dialog status saved in Dockable mode on launch.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

Moini
Posts: 3100
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:44 am

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby Moini » Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:36 am

At least the part about top left position was identical ;-) - does anyone here have a more recent version of the 0.92.x branch compiled and can test if the fix is only for the main window, or also for floating dialogs?

If it's not fixed, we might need a new report for those (if there isn't one yet, Tyler appears to know more).

(fixed in this case means: someone edited the source code of the program. This is officially called 'fix committed'. It will only be released ('fix released') with the next Inkscape version - 0.92.2, some time in April, probably.)
Something doesn't work? - Keeping an eye on the status bar can save you a lot of time!

Inkscape FAQ - Learning Resources - Website with tutorials (German and English)

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10206
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby brynn » Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:14 am

The way I read the fix commit comment, is that the problem is with dual monitors. And also that it's the main Inkscape window, rather than dialogs, which were in top-left corner. Here it looks like it's the dialogs in top-left corner.

Although there's a good chance that I just don't understand the technical language correctly.

I don't have the dev version.

User avatar
chocwrap
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby chocwrap » Wed Mar 01, 2017 12:00 am

Okay gentlemen - thanks for your input here. Let me clarify what I mean:

1. My original posting with images:
Having toggled the Save & Restore dialogue status.
The 2 dialogue boxes that opened - Paths Effects & Layers - are not Dialogue Boxes that I have used. This is what confused me as I would have expected to have seen D boxes that I had previously used.

2. Brynn - your question about what is it I'm trying to do. Great question.

I'm using Floating Dialogue boxes.

1. When I resize one of them, I want to know how to keep that same size the next time I open Inkscape.
2. When I drag a D box to a new position, how do I make is open in that same position when I open Inkscape again.

The trouble for a non-technical person is that the brief explanation notes in Inkscape Preferences either make little or no sense and so I'm resorting to trial and testing.

Thanks so much for all of yours help.

tylerdurden
Posts: 2240
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby tylerdurden » Wed Mar 01, 2017 12:10 am

G'day,

It seems the "Floating" setting will not save the dialog configurations - this looks to be a bug, as you have noted from the beginning.

Using the "Dockable" setting still allows using the dialogs in the floating mode, plus their status will be saved when quitting Inkscape.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10206
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby brynn » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:00 pm

Using the "Dockable" setting still allows using the dialogs in the floating mode, plus their status will be saved when quitting Inkscape.

I thought I would explain, in case that was confusing. (Sorry, I've been out with the flu, all this time.) I was surprised with I found this....at least I think this is what TD means.

If you have a floating dialog, you can still see the tiny triangle/arrow and X/close buttons near the top-right corner (underneath the regular minimize and close buttons) which were previously only used for docked dialogs. If you click the tiny triangle, it places the dialog, sort of like minimized in the docking area. It's not completely closed, but it's place is saved by some text which reads vertically bottom to top (which is the name of the dialog, such as Fill and Stroke). So if you do that before you close the file, then the next time you open the file, click on the text and the floating dialog will open right in the same place it was when you sort of minimized it.

Anyway, I'm pretty sure that's what he means.

tylerdurden
Posts: 2240
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:04 pm
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby tylerdurden » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:34 pm

No.

I mean what I wrote. If you can't understand that, please don't post.
Have a nice day.

I'm using Inkscape 0.92.2 (5c3e80d, 2017-08-06), 64 bit win8.1

The Inkscape manual has lots of helpful info! http://tavmjong.free.fr/INKSCAPE/MANUAL/html/

User avatar
chocwrap
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby chocwrap » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:54 pm

Just to let you know Brynn.

I'm not seeing a small down arrow below the normal minimise buttons - I'm looking at the Fill and Stroke Dialogue..

User avatar
brynn
Posts: 10206
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: western USA
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby brynn » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:32 pm

Sorry if I misunderstood TD. I meant no offense. (Just trying to make it easier for the op who has stated more than once about the need for explanation in very simple language.)

chocwrap, here's a screenshot for what I was talking about (way below). It's a tiny triangle which points to the left. I've never understood why it points to the left, because when you click it, it minimizes the dialog to the right :roll: . I put a small yellow box around the little buttons.

Oooohhh, I see now. You have to have the Dockable option enabled in Inkscape Preferences, for those buttons to show up. (don't forget to restart Inkscape, close all open docs, after changing it)

So after you set it for dockable, when you first open a dialog, it will be docked. But you can manually undock it. Just grab that bar where those tiny buttons are, and you can grab anywhere in that bar, except for the buttons. And drag it away, over to the canvas, and it will be undocked. It might flash off while you're dragging, and then you might only see the 4 sided arrow. But when you release the mouse button over the canvas, it will pop back up.

After you close the file and reopen it, it depends what other options you have set. I have set not to remember the dialog status or position. So when I reopen the file, the dialogs are not there. But if I click to open one, it opens right where I left it when I closed the file. Or if I minimize with the tiny button, I can reopen the dialog from there as well, and it will still be floating, right where I left it.

I would guess that if you set the status and/or position options, those dialogs would still be open and in the same position as before. But I haven't tested that far yet.

But I think that's what you're looking for. You have to set for docked, and then manually undock them. As far as I can tell, you only have to manually undock them once. Then the options for status and position should keep them there.

For the option Saving Dialog Status, choose Save and Restore....etc. (I think this keeps them always open or always closed) Then for Saving Window Geometry, it sounds like if you choose Remember and Use Last.... option, it will remember the dialog size and position, for every file you open. (I think this saves the size and position.) Or the other one, Save and Restore....for each Document - that sounds like you can have the dialogs size or position different for different files. So for example, someone might want the Fill and Stroke dialog in the top-right area for one particular file. But in another, maybe they want it somewhere else. At least that's what it sounds like to me. I haven't tested them myself yet.


If there is a bug with the Floating option (or at least it looks like it might be) I guess someone should report it. Since I haven't tested it, I probably shouldn't report it myself. I couldn't be fluent with a description, and it sounds like TD knows the details.


Moini wrote:At least the part about top left position was identical ;-) - does anyone here have a more recent version of the 0.92.x branch compiled and can test if the fix is only for the main window, or also for floating dialogs?

If it's not fixed, we might need a new report for those (if there isn't one yet, Tyler appears to know more).

I do now have 0.92.1, but I'm not clear what needs to be tested for the fixed bug that Moini mentioned (because the commit comment was a little too technical for me). Maybe the dev version should be used for testing, and I don't have one of those. But if 0.92.1 would be sufficient, and someone has time to help me understand what to test, I'd be glad to help. (maybe tomorrow or Mon)

fs2.png
fs2.png (35.95 KiB) Viewed 2326 times

User avatar
chocwrap
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby chocwrap » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:56 pm

Brynn - thanks very much for your detailed explanation.

And for explaining it simply and with no jargon. I appreciate it.

begtognen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:01 am

Re: I think there's a wee Bug in 0.92 Version..

Postby begtognen » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:39 am

Brynn - This is so helpful, I really appreciate it. I've tested it with 0.92.4 and it works: choose docking, save and restore, remember and use, dialogues on top: aggressive.

Then open a file, make your dialogs float, put them where you want them, make them the correct size and - voila! Saves like a dream.


Return to “General Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests